Menu

Monkston Primary School

Home Page

Monkston Primary School

Home Page

Year 5

Welcome to Year 5!
 

What a start to the autumn term we are having!

 

We are nearly at half term and already year 5 have had so much fun!

We have been practising our map and compass reading skills, written and performed our own songs about why Monkston School is so great, learnt how to sing and play along with 'Livin' on a Prayer' by Bon Jovi, 5M had their class assembly and we cannot wait for Bikeability! 

 

Image result for bikeability

      

Outdoor PE is on a Tuesday and swimming is on a Wednesday (indoor PE sessions will start after Christmas). Please continue to ensure that your child has their PE kit in school all week as sessions can change due to unforeseen circumstances. The kit should follow our school uniform policy.

 

Image result for kids reading

 

Homework has been coming in very regularly and we thank you so much for your support with this! Homework comes home every Tuesday and is due in the following Monday. Continuing with reading at home (both being heard reading AND being read to) is still so important for their comprehension skills. We hope that you can continue to help us to encourage this as much as possible, as it will also improve their creative imagination when writing. Children will receive a Monkston Point if their diary is signed by an adult 3 times in a week - diaries are checked every Monday. 

 

Image result for diary dates

 

 

Dates for your diary:

 

Monday 21st October, 08.30-08.50 - Monthly Parent Reading Event in classrooms

Wednesday 23rd, Thursday 24th and Friday 25th October - Bikeability

Thursday 24th October - MacMillan Coffee Event after school

Friday 25th October - FOMs Treat Day and last day of half term!

 

Monday 4th November - Back to school

Monday 18th November - Feelings Week

Monday 25th November - Monthly Parent Reading Event in classrooms and last club

Thursday 28th November - Christmas Disco

Friday 29th November - Book Fair after school

Friday 6th December - Tudor Day 

Wednesday 11th December - Last swimming and Christmas Lunch

Tuesday 17th December - Christmas Concert (1.30pm and 5.30pm)

Thursday 19th December - Year 5 Christmas Party

Friday 20th December - Christmas Carol Assembly, FOMs Treat Day and last day of term!

Top